Paleo Vegetarians?

I was asked by a friend if it’s possible to be Paleo and vegetarian. They were curious because everything they’ve seen or have been told about Paleo involves eating lots of bacon and meat. While my diet is Paleo and includes meat, there are many who have adopted a Paleo Vegetarian lifestyle successfully.

What makes being a Paleo Vegetarian so difficult? As Matt Frazier from nomeatathlete.com puts it:

What’s not allowed: All grains, including wheat, rice, barley, oats, rye, and corn; grain-like seeds, including quinoa, amaranth, and buckwheat; all legumes, including beans, chickpeas, lentils, peas, and soy; starchy tubers such as potatoes; dairy, alcohol, most sugars except in fruit.

I’m not going to go into the detailed reasons for what’s allowed and what isn’t.  The basic explanation: Pre-agricultural man (and woman) ate a lot of the staple foods, and had very limited or no access to the disallowed foods.

The page is well written, informative, and I think overall the entire site is a really good resource for vegetarian-specific Paleo information and recipes. I recommend visiting this site for anyone interested in the Paleo lifestyle and is currently or considering becoming vegetarian.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s